Funds $30 | Needed $120
Like the community? Enjoy reading manga?
Then click on the small donation banner! Thx!

28%

Author Topic: Your language learning experience  (Read 412 times)

Offline heinrichk.05

• J-Starter
  • Renommée: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Your language learning experience
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2016, 08:30:51 AM »
I was born in Brazil, so my first language is Portuguese. However, as I've always been exposed to different cultures — I studied at a bilingual (Spanish/Portuguese) school, and my grandparents are Japanese (thus I had contact with anime/manga/LNs/VNs since I was a little kid) —, learning new languages is relatively easy for me. To be honest, I'm kind of jealous of people who have an awesome background story about how they went to learn another language.

Now I speak Portuguese, English, Spanish and Japanese, but I want to learn French and Italian someday.

By the way, what was the manga you wanted to read?

Offline crimsonex

• J-Starter
  • Renommée: 0
  • HKer who lived in Tokyo and now in the UK...
    • View Profile
Your language learning experience
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2015, 10:37:03 PM »
This is a thread to talk about your journey of language learning. You can talk about what inspired you to learn a new language, your joys and woes of learning that language and how far you've come to.

I'll start first. It was September 2007. I was 15. I bought a Japanese manga magazine for the first time, after a long halt of publication and being fed up waiting for the scanlations. (the manga was not popular so only a few people worked on the scanlations, and no one scanned the magazine either). I still remember the price of the magazine. The postage fee was the same as the magazine, since I EMSed it. lol!